Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from 2020

The Bone Thief by Breeana Shields

The Bone Thief by Breeana Shields
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Everything I wanted it to be and more. I can’t recommend this duology enough!

Saskia is intent on revenge. She’s returned to Ivory Hall (a magic school) but with another version of hers memories. Including, a deep love for a boy who doesn’t love her in this reality. She and a team of friends are a part of the Bone Games. A dangerous competition that will require their wits, strength, and consciences. Leading to a heartfelt, satisfying conclusion without being schmaltzy.

Saskia’s growth as a character and her acceptance of her choices, bad and good, was one of my favorite parts. The romance was full of longing and the perfect amount of slow burn. The friendships were such a beautiful part of the story. You couldn’t help but love her Bone Games team. The fantasy-world was unique and well-developed. A must read!

View all my reviews


Far from Normal is exactly that!

Far from Normal by Becky Wallace
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received an eARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Squeals! More squeals! The most squeals! I utterly adored and entirely loved this book and I’m just starting on my overuse of adverbs.

Maddie is a normal girl from Normal, Illinois. She goes to Chicago for the summer to work as an intern at a PR company so that she can get a recommendation letter for college. Her summer starts with a crash thanks to her aunt’s dog and her slim bicycle skills. Luckily the accident results in an charmingly awkward meet cute with a handsome boy named Gabe. The sparks and soccer balls fly from there when she’s tasked by the PR firm to help improve his image. But someone is trying to sabotage her at work and she worries about getting her heart too involved with a client.

I honestly loved it so much that I went back and read my favorite parts, twice.

The voice is believable and relatable. The twists are fun, some expected and oth…

The Vinyl Underground and How Music Connects Us

Book Description: During the tumultuous year of 1968, four teens are drawn together: Ronnie Bingham, who is grieving his brother’s death in Vietnam; Milo, Ronnie’s bookish best friend; “Ramrod,” a star athlete who is secretly avoiding the draft; and Hana, the new girl, a half-Japanese badass rock-n-roller whose presence doesn’t sit well with their segregated high school.
The four outcasts find sanctuary in “The Vinyl Underground,” a record club where they spin music, joke, debate, and escape the stifling norms of their small southern town. But Ronnie’s eighteenth birthday is looming. Together, they hatch a plan to keep Ronnie from being drafted. But when a horrific act of racial-charged violence rocks the gang to their core, they decide it’s time for an epic act of rebellion.
Interview with author Rob Rufus. Samantha: There’s not a lot of YA books about the Vietnam War. What drew you to this era in history and to its music? Rob: My dad is a Vietnam Vet, so I have always been a little obs…

Goodreads Giveaway!

Read The Invention of Sophie Carter BEFORE it's published!  Win one of 15 advanced reader's copies on Goodreads! Open until May 22, 2020.

The Last Word

Where one story ends, another begins.
1861. Miss Lucinda Leavitt is shocked when she learns the author of her favorite serialized novel has died before completing the story. Determined to learn how it ends, Lucinda reluctantly enlists the help of her father’s young business partner to track down the reclusive author’s final papers.
Mr. David Randall is overwhelmed by his workload. He's eager to prove to the world—and to himself—that he's capable of following in his late father's footsteps. He doesn’t have the time for this endeavor, but Lucinda is not the type to take no for an answer.
Their search for the elusive Mrs. Smith and the rightful ending to her novel leads Lucinda and David around the English countryside, but the truths they discover about themselves—and each other—are anything but fictional.
Goodreads  *  Amazon  *  IndieBound  *  Target  *  Barnes and Noble  *  Walmart  *  BooksaMillion  *  Book Depository  *  Get a Signed Copy from The King's English 
A Juni…

A Royal Christmas Quandary

Readers looking for a light, fun read full of holiday mischief will be delighted by Samantha Hastings' A Royal Christmas Quandary, perfect for fans of A Christmas Prince.
When you spend Christmas in a castle, anything is possible.
1860. Lady Alexandrina Gailey is looking forward to a cozy holiday at Windsor Castle with her best friend, Princess Alice, and her long-time crush, Lord George Worthington. But Drina's plans are all but dashed when Alice's parents, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, declare that Alice must choose one of two royal princes to become engaged to before Christmas.
There's just one problem: George, a junior member of the Foreign Office, has accidentally misplaced one of the princes.
Together, Drina and George scour the town of Windsor for the missing prince, desperately hoping to deliver him to the royal dinner party with the queen and king none the wiser. They might just need a royal Christmas miracle to pull it off.
Goodreads   *     Amazon    *     Ba…

The Invention of Sophie Carter is a Junior Library Guild Selection

I am tickled pink to announce that my second book, THE INVENTION OF SOPHIE CARTER, has been selected by the Junior Library Guild!

My book will be arriving at libraries and bookstores on July 14, 2020!

How to make a mug!

The first 50 people who enter their preorder receipts for THE INVENTION OF SOPHIE CARTER will receive a teapot necklace and a vinyl quote. What can you do with a vinyl quote? One thing I like to make are mugs! ☕️☕️☕️









Cover Reveal: A ROYAL CHRISTMAS QUANDARY

It’s beginning to look a lot like… a Christmas book! I’m so pleased to introduce my holiday story, A Royal Christmas Quandary to you. 
It has plenty of hijinks, festive fun, and sweet romance.
Drina (Lady Alexandra Gailey) is excited to spend Christmas at Windsor Castle with her best friend, Princess Alice, and her longtime crush, Lord George Worthington. But nothing goes quite to plan, Princess Alice has to pick a royal prince before Christmas and George has lost one of the foreign princes. Between mischief and mistletoe, can Drina help her friend to the perfect proposal? And will she get her own Christmas wish?
When you spend Christmas in a castle, anything is possible.

Read the rest of the announcement on Swoon Reads.
Add it to your Goodreads TBR now!

Sister's Giveaway on Instagram

Enter the giveaway on Instagram

SISTERS #giveaway
The perfect prize pack for you and your sister (or friend)! πŸ‘©πŸΎ‍πŸ¦±πŸ‘©πŸΎ‍🦱

To enter: follow @sarablarson & @samanthahastingsauthor πŸ‘©πŸΌπŸ‘©πŸΌ

Tag 2 friends (or sisters) you think would be interested
πŸ‘©‍πŸ¦°πŸ‘©‍🦰

For 3 extra entries: share in your stories, repost (tag us so we know), and leave a comment with something your sister stole from you (or you stole from her)!
πŸ‘—πŸ‘ πŸ§€πŸŽ’

The prize includes: -Signed copy of THE INVENTION OF SOPHIE CARTER
-Signed copy of SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT
-2 scrunchies -2 zipper pouches -2 pairs of socks -2 sets of Spoon earrings
-2 identical charm bracelets -2 organza bags .

Giveaway ends on March 20th.
US only. ❤️❤️❤️

Junior Library Guild Gold Standard

I was surprised and delighted to received an award from the Junior Library Guild! They have given THE LAST WORD the great honor of being a gold standard selection. And I got a really cool pin that I can't wait to wear to my next author event.

January Newsletter

Check out this gorgeous art by Kari On Paper!!!
Read all about it and more in my January newsletter. 
And please consider signing up for my newsletter. It comes four times a year: January, April, July, and October.

The Last Word Booktrailer

A booktrailer is like a movie trailer, but for a book... I guess that's kind of obvious. Anyway, here is the booktrailer I made for THE LAST WORD. I hope you enjoy it!