Skip to main content

Review: A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe

 

A GOLDEN FURY by Samantha Cohoe

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A perfect read like for fans of Addie Thorley’s AN AFFAIR OF POISONS.


Thea and her mother are alchemists, but just before they’ve completed the philosopher’s stone her mother locked her out of their lab and went mad. Thea is sent back to England to a father who doesn’t know she exists and only her notes and her letters from Will. Both her father and Will want her knowledge, but who can she trust? And is the stone cursed?

Thea is a passionate and intelligent heroine that is sure to appeal to modern readers. She is naive at times, but her heart is always in the right place. The setting is as explosive as the alchemy; beginning in Revolutionary France and then to England on the brink of war. I loved the references to Mary Wollstonecraft’s VINDICATION OF THE RIGHTS OF WOMEN. There’s a strong feminist streak that I adored.


BOOK DESCRIPTION: 

Set in eighteenth century England, Samantha Cohoe’s debut novel, A GOLDEN FURY (Wednesday Books; October 13, 2020), follows a young alchemist as she tries to save the people she loves from the curse of the Philosopher’s Stone. The streets of London and Oxford come to life as this historical fantasy unravels. Weaving together an alluring story of magic and danger, Samantha’s debut has her heroine making messy decisions as she toes the line between good and evil while it becomes blurred.

Thea Hope longs to be an alchemist out of the shadow of her famous mother. The two of them are close to creating the legendary Philosopher’s Stone—whose properties include immortality and can turn any metal into gold—but just when the promise of the Stone’s riches is in their grasp, Thea’s mother destroys the Stone in a sudden fit of violent madness.

While combing through her mother’s notes, Thea learns that there’s a curse on the Stone that causes anyone who tries to make it to lose their sanity. With the threat of the French Revolution looming, Thea is sent to Oxford for her safety, to live with the father who doesn’t know she exists. But in Oxford, there are alchemists after the Stone who don’t believe Thea’s warning about the curse—instead, they’ll stop at nothing to steal Thea’s knowledge of how to create the Stone. But Thea can only run for so long, and soon she will have to choose: create the Stone and sacrifice her sanity, or let the people she loves die.

A GOLDEN FURY and the curse of the Philosopher’s Stone will haunt you long after the final page.

Published by Wednesday Books **On Sale October, 2020**

Hardcover | $18.99 | ISBN: 9781250220400| Ebook ISBN: 9781250220417

Goodreads * Amazon * Barnes & Noble



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Samantha Cohoe writes historically-inspired young adult fantasy. She was raised in San Luis Obispo, California, where she enjoyed an idyllic childhood of beach trips, omnivorous reading, and writing stories brimming with adverbs. She currently lives in Denver with her family and divides her time among teaching Latin, mothering, writing, reading, and deleting adverbs. A Golden Fury is her debut novel.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Royal Christmas Quandary

Readers looking for a light, fun read full of holiday mischief will be delighted by Samantha Hastings'  A Royal Christmas Quandary , perfect for fans of  A Christmas Prince. When you spend Christmas in a castle, anything is possible. 1860. Lady Alexandrina Gailey is looking forward to a cozy holiday at Windsor Castle with her best friend, Princess Alice, and her long-time crush, Lord George Worthington. But Drina's plans are all but dashed when Alice's parents, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, declare that Alice must choose one of two royal princes to become engaged to before Christmas. There's just one problem: George, a junior member of the Foreign Office, has accidentally misplaced one of the princes. Together, Drina and George scour the town of Windsor for the missing prince, desperately hoping to deliver him to the royal dinner party with the queen and king none the wiser. They might just need a royal Christmas miracle to pull it off. Book Grou

The Vinyl Underground and How Music Connects Us

Book Description: During the tumultuous year of 1968, four teens are drawn together: Ronnie Bingham, who is grieving his brother’s death in Vietnam; Milo, Ronnie’s bookish best friend; “Ramrod,” a star athlete who is secretly avoiding the draft; and Hana, the new girl, a half-Japanese badass rock-n-roller whose presence doesn’t sit well with their segregated high school. The four outcasts find sanctuary in “The Vinyl Underground,” a record club where they spin music, joke, debate, and escape the stifling norms of their small southern town. But Ronnie’s eighteenth birthday is looming. Together, they hatch a plan to keep Ronnie from being drafted. But when a horrific act of racial-charged violence rocks the gang to their core, they decide it’s time for an epic act of rebellion. Interview with author Rob Rufus. Samantha: There’s not a lot of YA books about the Vietnam War. What drew you to this era in history and to its music? Rob: My dad is a Vietnam Vet, so I have always b

5 Weeks of Giveaways

Starting tomorrow, I’ll be doing a #giveaway every Monday for five weeks on Facebook and Instagram! I’m celebrating the release of A ROYAL CHRISTMAS QUANDARY on Oct 6, 2020. It’s a full-length ebook for only $7.80. Get a prize pack in the mail when you preorder it. I’ve also partnered with some lovely authors for double the swag two of those weeks. Enter every week for the best chance to win! Follow me on Facebook Follow me on Instagram