Skip to main content

Posts

Coming January 2, 2023 from Covenant! Miranda Hatch is a scholar, and at the advanced age of twenty-six, she is undoubtedly a spinster. Her single-minded ambition leads her not to seek a husband but to find the lost manuscript of William Shakespeare. So when she discovers a connection between the Bard and the local dashing marquess, she pens a letter requesting access to papers that might secure her academic triumph.  Lord Robert Hamilton is drowning in debt and must turn things around or risk losing his ancestral home. With the weight of the world on his shoulders, he had little time to bother with a letter from an M. Hatch requesting access to ancestral papers--until he realizes that there may be some financial merit in granting the request. To his great surprise, M. Hatch turns out to be none other than the lovely Miss Miranda. The pair soon embarks on the trail of a centuries-old mystery, drawn together not only by their shared goal but by their growing attraction. However, someone
Recent posts

The MARQUESS AND THE RUNAWAY LADY

A sweet Regency Romance where the Marquess brings home the wrong runaway governess! And with a lot of help from his unruly sisters, he discovers her true identity and loses his heart.  Request now on #Netgalley  https://www.netgalley.com/catalog/book/274114 Read the prequel for free:  https://books2read.com/u/mY8AYd #TheMarquessAndTheRunawayLady #SweetRomance #SamanthaHastings #RegencyRomance    

Interview with Jenni L. Walsh

Samantha: Where did you learn about the WRENS—Women’s Royal Naval Service—and what inspired your story? Jenni: I came across the mention of the WRENS in other historical fiction books. I was curious about them, quickly realized how awesome they were (hello motorcycle dispatch riders), and also quickly realized a novel hadn't yet been dedicated to them. I jumped at the chance to tell their stories through the fictional lens of Marion, who is a WREN during both WWI and WWII, and Evelyn, who serves during WWII.   Samantha: I love how you weave the two world wars together to show one beautiful, sometimes heartbreaking story. How did you create the structure of your novel? Jenni: The novel can really be broken into two separate stories. And I wrote it as such, drafting Marion's story first. Then, I wrote Evelyn's. The fun part, though, is that their two separate stories eventually intersect, which reveals a big secret for the women.   Samantha: Who is your favorite character?

Book Review: The Call of the Wrens by Jenni L. Walsh

  THE CALL OF THE WRENS by Jenni L. Walsh Review: ✨✨✨✨✨ The perfect read for fans of THE GUERNSEY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows! The story highlights WRENS—Women’s Royal Naval Service—in both WWI and WWII. Fearless ladies who ride motorcycles to deliver messages (it doesn’t get much cooler than this). The main story lines revolve around Marion and Evelyn. Marion Hoxton is a near mute orphan who is forced to join the WRENS or be homeless in 1917. Her best friend Eddie insists on coming with her with disastrous consequences. Evelyn Fairchild was born with a club-foot and went through several surgeries until she was 16yo to correct it. Her parents want to treat her like she’s made of glass, but when she learns about the WRENS she knows she can be more than a debutante. Walsh weaves an unforgettable tale with story threads from different times coming together for a powerful conclusion. It’s a beautiful and unforgettable book.

A Novel Disguise by Samantha Larsen

  Coming May 15, 2023   (Under my pen name Samantha Larsen) When Miss Tiffany Woodall assumes the identity of her half-brother after his death, she realizes she isn’t the only one with a secret to hide in this historical series debut, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Sherry Thomas. 1784 London. Miss Tiffany Woodall didn’t murder her half-brother, but she did bury him in the back garden so that she could keep her cottage. Now, the confirmed spinster has to pretend to be Uriah and fulfill his duties as the Duke of Beaufort’s librarian while searching Astwell Palace for Uriah’s missing diamond pin, the only thing of value they own. Her ruse is almost up when she is discovered by Mr. Samir Lathrop, the local bookseller, who tries to save her from drowning while she's actually just washing up in a lake after burying her brother. Her plan is going by the book, until the rector proposes marriage and she starts to develop feelings for Mr. Lathrop.  But when her childhood friend, Tes

Author Interview: Mimi Matthews

Mimi Matthews Interview Samantha: Your characters are always so loveable! I know it’s hard to pick a favorite, but do you have one in this book? Mimi: It’s really hard to choose! I love Julia and Jasper, of course, but I also have a soft spot for Daisy Blunt. Samantha: I adored Goldfinch Hall as a setting in Yorkshire. It’s damp, creepy, and deliciously gothic! What was your inspiration for it? Mimi: I’m a huge fan of gothic fiction and Victorian sensation novels. Remote, creepy houses often play a part in those stories. It’s always fun to include one of them in mine. Samantha: Julia’s invalid parents remind me of Mr. Woodhouse in Jane Austen’s EMMA. How did you make them both comical and sinister? Mimi: Their hypochondriacal quirks make them comical, a bit in the vein of Austen characters like Mrs. Bennet or Mr. Woodhouse. However, the power they hold over Julia makes them sinister.   They’re capable of controlling her future and taking away her bodily autonomy. Truly scar

The Belle of Belgrave Square

  THE BELLE OF BELGRAVE SQUARE by Mimi Matthews Review: ✨✨✨✨✨ Mimi Matthew’s books are always a treat and this story was absolutely delectable! Captain Blunt and Julia are an unlikely pairing. He is a strong man with a shocking past and reputation. She is the socially anxious daughter of invalids. The only thing they share in common is a love of horse riding. In sharing their secrets, they discover their inner strength. THE BLUE CASTLE by L.M. Montgomery is one of my favorite books and I definitely saw shades of the story in THE BELLE OF BELGRAVE SQUARE. Author Mimi Matthews also used these books for inspiration, THE LAW AND THE LADY by Wilkie Collins (1875); LADY AUDLEY’S SECRET by Mary Elizabeth Braddon (1862). I can hardly wait for the next book in the BELLES OF LONDON series! Coming October 11, 2022. 

Never Rescue a Rogue

NEVER RESCUE A ROGUE by Virginia Heath   Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ I received an eARC in exchange for an honest review.  The Merriwell sisters continue to both charm and make me laugh out loud in this second novel. (You don’t need to have read the first book to enjoy this one. But I highly recommend it! NEVER FALL FOR YOUR FIANCÉE is an absolute hoot). Giles Sinclair is an heir in trouble. He has a terrible secret and no one is better at sniffing out secrets then the journalist called the Sentinel. Who also happens to be Miss Diana Merriwell. The former foes become friends and solve a family mystery. It’s a witty war of words with two likable protagonists.  Heat level: Diana has her way with the Duke 😉. #stmartins #stmartinspress #stmartinsgriffin #VirginiaHeath #NeverRescueARogue #regency #regencyromance #bookrecommendation #bookreview #bookish #booklove