Skip to main content

A Novel Disguise by Samantha Larsen

 

Coming May 15, 2023 (Under my pen name Samantha Larsen)

When Miss Tiffany Woodall assumes the identity of her half-brother after his death, she realizes she isn’t the only one with a secret to hide in this historical series debut, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Sherry Thomas.


1784 London.Miss Tiffany Woodall didn’t murder her half-brother, but she did bury him in the back garden so that she could keep her cottage. Now, the confirmed spinster has to pretend to be Uriah and fulfill his duties as the Duke of Beaufort’s librarian while searching Astwell Palace for Uriah’s missing diamond pin, the only thing of value they own. Her ruse is almost up when she is discovered by Mr. Samir Lathrop, the local bookseller, who tries to save her from drowning while she's actually just washing up in a lake after burying her brother.

Her plan is going by the book, until the rector proposes marriage and she starts to develop feelings for Mr. Lathrop.  But when her childhood friend, Tess, comes to visit, Tiffany quickly realizes her secret isn’t the only one hidden within these walls.  The body of a servant is found, along with a collection of stolen items, and someone else grows mysteriously ill. Can Tiffany solve these mysteries without her own disguise  being discovered? If not, she’ll lose her cottage and possibly her life.

Preorder links: Amazon    Goodreads    BN    BAM    Powells    Indie

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Royal Christmas Quandary

Readers looking for a light, fun read full of holiday mischief will be delighted by Samantha Hastings'  A Royal Christmas Quandary , perfect for fans of  A Christmas Prince. When you spend Christmas in a castle, anything is possible. 1860. Lady Alexandrina Gailey is looking forward to a cozy holiday at Windsor Castle with her best friend, Princess Alice, and her long-time crush, Lord George Worthington. But Drina's plans are all but dashed when Alice's parents, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, declare that Alice must choose one of two royal princes to become engaged to before Christmas. There's just one problem: George, a junior member of the Foreign Office, has accidentally misplaced one of the princes. Together, Drina and George scour the town of Windsor for the missing prince, desperately hoping to deliver him to the royal dinner party with the queen and king none the wiser. They might just need a royal Christmas miracle to pull it off. Book Grou

The Vinyl Underground and How Music Connects Us

Book Description: During the tumultuous year of 1968, four teens are drawn together: Ronnie Bingham, who is grieving his brother’s death in Vietnam; Milo, Ronnie’s bookish best friend; “Ramrod,” a star athlete who is secretly avoiding the draft; and Hana, the new girl, a half-Japanese badass rock-n-roller whose presence doesn’t sit well with their segregated high school. The four outcasts find sanctuary in “The Vinyl Underground,” a record club where they spin music, joke, debate, and escape the stifling norms of their small southern town. But Ronnie’s eighteenth birthday is looming. Together, they hatch a plan to keep Ronnie from being drafted. But when a horrific act of racial-charged violence rocks the gang to their core, they decide it’s time for an epic act of rebellion. Interview with author Rob Rufus. Samantha: There’s not a lot of YA books about the Vietnam War. What drew you to this era in history and to its music? Rob: My dad is a Vietnam Vet, so I have always b

One Way or Another

 What are some of your favorite romcoms?  ONE WAY OR ANOTHER by Kara McDowell has all of the charm and romance of a Hallmark movie plus the depth and drama of a well-written novel. Paige suffers from crippling anxiety and even the smallest of decisions, sends her into a spiral of overthinking. So when she is offered two different ways to celebrate Christmas, she is undecided. Go to New York with her mom on her first airplane ride and do all the things on her list. Or, enjoy the holiday at her best friend’s cabin who she also happens to be in love with. Fate and a knock on the head, give her the opportunity to enjoy both options... I loved seeing how the two “fates” differed and how they were the same. I also enjoyed Paige’s character growth in both scenarios. And what is a Christmas story without romance? Well this one has plenty of misunderstandings, misses, and holiday kisses.