Skip to main content

Book Review: A Dreadful Splendor by B. R. Myers

 

Out Tomorrow! A DREADFUL SPLENDOR

Review: 5 STARS

The Dreadful Splendor was splendidly dreadful! With séances, ghosts, a creepy estate by the ocean, and lots of twists! I read it in one sitting. I could not put it down! I was sure that the murderer was each character at different parts of the book.

Jenny was a multifaceted character that became more developed in every chapter. I longed to know her secrets!

Author B. R. Myers also spins a slow burning romance that has me melting. It’s the perfect pick for fans of Victorian history, mysteries, and Gothic romance.

Description: 

In this spectacularly imaginative and ghoulishly fun Gothic murder mystery brimming with romance, betrayals, and chills, a fake spiritualist is summoned to hold a séance for a bride who died on the eve before her wedding, but as nefarious secrets are revealed, the line between hoax and haunting blurs.

Be careful what you conjure...

In Victorian London, Genevieve Timmons poses as a spiritualist to swindle wealthy mourners—until one misstep lands her in a jail cell awaiting the noose. Then a stranger arrives to make her a peculiar offer. The lord he serves, Mr. Pemberton, has been inconsolable since the tragic death of his beautiful bride-to-be. If Genevieve can perform a séance persuasive enough to bring the young lord peace, she will win her freedom.

Soothing a grieving nobleman should be easy for someone of Genevieve’s skill, but when she arrives at the grand Somerset Park estate, Mr. Pemberton is not the heartbroken lover she expected. The surly—yet exceedingly handsome—gentleman is certain that his fiancée was murdered, even though there is no evidence. Only a confession can bring justice now, and Mr. Pemberton decides Genevieve will help him get it. With his knowledge of the household and her talent for illusion, they can stage a haunting so convincing it will coax the killer into the light. However, when frightful incidents befall the manor, Genevieve realizes her tricks aren’t required after all. She may be a fake, but Somerset’s ghost could be all too real…

A Dreadful Splendor is a wickedly whimsical brew of mystery, spooky thrills, and intoxicating romance that makes for an irresistibly fun and page-turning read.



Connect with the Author: B. R. Myers

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Royal Christmas Quandary

Readers looking for a light, fun read full of holiday mischief will be delighted by Samantha Hastings'  A Royal Christmas Quandary , perfect for fans of  A Christmas Prince. When you spend Christmas in a castle, anything is possible. 1860. Lady Alexandrina Gailey is looking forward to a cozy holiday at Windsor Castle with her best friend, Princess Alice, and her long-time crush, Lord George Worthington. But Drina's plans are all but dashed when Alice's parents, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, declare that Alice must choose one of two royal princes to become engaged to before Christmas. There's just one problem: George, a junior member of the Foreign Office, has accidentally misplaced one of the princes. Together, Drina and George scour the town of Windsor for the missing prince, desperately hoping to deliver him to the royal dinner party with the queen and king none the wiser. They might just need a royal Christmas miracle to pull it off. Book Grou

The Girl with the Golden Eyes

Hana’s life is forever changed when the Comtesse de Champagne, a wealthy and eccentric Englishwoman, sees a painting of her. The comtesse purchases Hana from her father, and Hana’s existence transforms from one of poverty to one of privilege.   For years Hana enjoys the comforts of her new position, but she hates how controlling and neurotic the comtesse is. When the comtesse is accused of murdering Sir Reginald Shipley over a painting, Hana must do all in her power to prove the comtesse’s innocence or she’ll lose everything.   She reluctantly works with Aaron Shipley, Sir Reginald’s grandson, to track down the true murderer, only to discover shocking secrets that will shake everything Hana and Aaron thought they knew about themselves and their families. And falling in love could prove deadly. Available October 13th, 2021. Preorder now! Discussion Questions

The Vinyl Underground and How Music Connects Us

Book Description: During the tumultuous year of 1968, four teens are drawn together: Ronnie Bingham, who is grieving his brother’s death in Vietnam; Milo, Ronnie’s bookish best friend; “Ramrod,” a star athlete who is secretly avoiding the draft; and Hana, the new girl, a half-Japanese badass rock-n-roller whose presence doesn’t sit well with their segregated high school. The four outcasts find sanctuary in “The Vinyl Underground,” a record club where they spin music, joke, debate, and escape the stifling norms of their small southern town. But Ronnie’s eighteenth birthday is looming. Together, they hatch a plan to keep Ronnie from being drafted. But when a horrific act of racial-charged violence rocks the gang to their core, they decide it’s time for an epic act of rebellion. Interview with author Rob Rufus. Samantha: There’s not a lot of YA books about the Vietnam War. What drew you to this era in history and to its music? Rob: My dad is a Vietnam Vet, so I have always b