Skip to main content

We Are the Fire

 


WE ARE THE FIRE by Sam Taylor 

Book review: πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯

A riveting fantasy that had me spellbound. 

When they were children, Oksana and Pran were stolen from their homes and countries and turned into demons. Fire-wielding Tuliikobrets for Emperor Juhan. Pran will do anything to get their freedom from the fort. Oksana is determined to help her friends, especially Pran get the medicine he needs for his bad leg (from all the transformations and experimenting). They both choose dangerous paths that might tear them apart before the emperor does. Both are trying to hold onto their humanity—but it may be too late. 


Told in dual POV, both Oksana and Pran are well-rounded characters with plenty of flaws and morally gray decisions. Their world is unique. Fantasy and science are mixed together in this stand-alone book over a simmering flame: Ready to explode.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Royal Christmas Quandary

Readers looking for a light, fun read full of holiday mischief will be delighted by Samantha Hastings'  A Royal Christmas Quandary , perfect for fans of  A Christmas Prince. When you spend Christmas in a castle, anything is possible. 1860. Lady Alexandrina Gailey is looking forward to a cozy holiday at Windsor Castle with her best friend, Princess Alice, and her long-time crush, Lord George Worthington. But Drina's plans are all but dashed when Alice's parents, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, declare that Alice must choose one of two royal princes to become engaged to before Christmas. There's just one problem: George, a junior member of the Foreign Office, has accidentally misplaced one of the princes. Together, Drina and George scour the town of Windsor for the missing prince, desperately hoping to deliver him to the royal dinner party with the queen and king none the wiser. They might just need a royal Christmas miracle to pull it off. Book Grou

The Invention of Sophie Carter

THE INVENTION OF SOPHIE CARTER   is   coming out July 14,  2020 from Swoon Reads / Macmillan 1851. Bounced from one begrudging relative to another their whole lives, orphaned identical twins Sophie and Mariah Carter have always relied on each other for love and support, even though the sisters couldn't be more different. Brash Sophie wants to be an inventor, and demure Mariah wants to be an artist. Both long to visit London for the summer—Sophie to see the Queen’s Great Exhibition and Mariah to study the world’s finest collection of paintings. But when their cantankerous aunt answers their letter pleading for a place to stay, she insists she only has time and room to spare for one of them. So, Mariah and Sophie hatch a clever scheme: They will travel to London together and take turns playing the part of "Sophie". At first the plan runs like clockwork. But as the girls avoid getting caught by increasingly narrow margins and two handsome gentlemen—both

A Dream Come True in the Mail

On my front porch this morning I found a package. Inside there was a beautifully wrapped book from my editor, Emily Settle. I eagerly unwrapped the package and held my finished book for the first time. It's gorgeous! Katie Klimowicz did an amazing job designing both the exterior and the interior of my book.  Dreams do come true. Mine did, only today.  THE LAST WORD