Skip to main content

The Last Word Book Group Questions

The Last Word Book Group Questions (Google doc)


1.       Which character do you think got The Last Word in the book and why?
2.       Why do you think Lucinda Leavitt is obsessed with the serialized story, She Knew She Was Right; and in particular, Eurydice Emerson’s choice between her two suitors? Why is the power of choice so important to Lucinda?
3.       Who is your favorite character and why?
4.       Lucinda Leavitt and Persephone Merritt are fast friends. How are they similar to each other? How are they different? And how do they help each other?
5.       David Randall asks Lucinda Leavitt whether she would like to live in London or in the country. Which setting would you choose and why? What was your favorite setting in the book?
6.       Lucinda Leavitt compares herself to a doll several times in the story. How accurate do you think a doll represents how women were treated and perceived during the Victorian Era?
7.       Lucinda Leavitt struggles against societal norms and gender stereotypes that confine women from working in mathematics and business during the Victorian Era. Do similar gender stereotypes still exist today? In what ways is our society different?
8.       David Randall feels haunted by his late father’s lack of confidence in his business abilities and his father’s constant comparisons to his dead brother. How does that affect the choices David makes? How does that affect how he sees himself?
9.       Persephone Merritt tells Lucinda Leavitt: “Then stop caring what other people think. That’s the greatest cage of all. The only person’s opinion that matters is your own.” Do you agree? Are we caged by other’s perceptions of us?
10.   Mr. Leavitt tells his daughter, Lucinda, that all the decisions he made were for her benefit. Do you believe his motivations? Is he a good father?
11.   Lucinda Leavitt wants to know more about her late mother. How does knowing your past help you chart your future course?
12.   Forgiveness and allowing others to change is a theme in the novel. Should Lucinda Leavitt forgive Mrs. Randall for slighting both her and her mother for their lower-class origins?
13.   Which character do you think changes the most in the book and why?
14.   Do you think that the author Mrs. Smith was the heroine of her own story or a victim of circumstances?
15.   Did you like the ending of Eurydice Emerson’s story? Did you like the ending of Lucinda Leavitt’s story? Is there anything you would change if you were given The Last Word?
16.   How far would you go to discover the ending of a favorite book?

Study guide / book club / discussion questions

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Royal Christmas Quandary

Readers looking for a light, fun read full of holiday mischief will be delighted by Samantha Hastings'  A Royal Christmas Quandary , perfect for fans of  A Christmas Prince. When you spend Christmas in a castle, anything is possible. 1860. Lady Alexandrina Gailey is looking forward to a cozy holiday at Windsor Castle with her best friend, Princess Alice, and her long-time crush, Lord George Worthington. But Drina's plans are all but dashed when Alice's parents, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, declare that Alice must choose one of two royal princes to become engaged to before Christmas. There's just one problem: George, a junior member of the Foreign Office, has accidentally misplaced one of the princes. Together, Drina and George scour the town of Windsor for the missing prince, desperately hoping to deliver him to the royal dinner party with the queen and king none the wiser. They might just need a royal Christmas miracle to pull it off. Book Grou

The Vinyl Underground and How Music Connects Us

Book Description: During the tumultuous year of 1968, four teens are drawn together: Ronnie Bingham, who is grieving his brother’s death in Vietnam; Milo, Ronnie’s bookish best friend; “Ramrod,” a star athlete who is secretly avoiding the draft; and Hana, the new girl, a half-Japanese badass rock-n-roller whose presence doesn’t sit well with their segregated high school. The four outcasts find sanctuary in “The Vinyl Underground,” a record club where they spin music, joke, debate, and escape the stifling norms of their small southern town. But Ronnie’s eighteenth birthday is looming. Together, they hatch a plan to keep Ronnie from being drafted. But when a horrific act of racial-charged violence rocks the gang to their core, they decide it’s time for an epic act of rebellion. Interview with author Rob Rufus. Samantha: There’s not a lot of YA books about the Vietnam War. What drew you to this era in history and to its music? Rob: My dad is a Vietnam Vet, so I have always b

5 Weeks of Giveaways

Starting tomorrow, I’ll be doing a #giveaway every Monday for five weeks on Facebook and Instagram! I’m celebrating the release of A ROYAL CHRISTMAS QUANDARY on Oct 6, 2020. It’s a full-length ebook for only $7.80. Get a prize pack in the mail when you preorder it. I’ve also partnered with some lovely authors for double the swag two of those weeks. Enter every week for the best chance to win! Follow me on Facebook Follow me on Instagram